Taylor City Council incumbents re-elected

Newcomers Patts, Ramik elected

Sunday Times Newspapers

TAYLOR – Residents re-elected City Treasurer Edward Bourassa over challenger Jean Smith, returned five incumbent city council members to office and renewed a school operating millage with 60 percent approval.

Bourassa received 3,349 votes (62 percent), while Smith received 2024 votes (38 percent).

The school millage renewal passed with 3,292 votes, 60 percent of the ballots cast, with 2,224, or 40 percent, opposed.

Incumbent council members Alex Garza, Tim Woolley, Charley Johnson, Angela Croft and Daniel Bzura were re-elected, with newcomers Caroline Patts and Herman Ramik joining the council. Candidates losing their election bids were Tina Daniels, Lindsey Rose, David Mellert, Justin Mordarski, John Edwards, William McDonald and Ken Williams. Councilmen John Myers and Dave Gorgon were not on the ballot.

Williams, who volunteers as an auxiliary police officer for the city, said he would be interested in serving on the planning commission, and he will consider running for council again in four years.

Mellert said he will also continue to volunteer where needed, but was less certain of another council run.

McDonald said he will continued to be involved in city affairs and will maintain his city issues web page. He said he would be interested in working on a city commission, and will run for city council in the future.

(Sue Suchyta can be reached at sue.suchyta@yahoo.com.)