Southgate voters chose change; Taylor approves improvements

New school board member welcomed in Trenton; LP retains council incumbents, adds new faces



Sunday Times Newspapers


Southgate Community Schools voters sent a message Tuesday when they ousted four Board of Education incumbents and welcomed new faces.


Voters chose Andrew A. Green with 4,773 votes, Timothy O. Estheimer with 3,617 votes and Jason Kusper with 3,432 votes. They will serve six-year terms.


Incumbents Neil J. Freitas, garnered 2,187 votes, Board President Paul C. Knott had 3,192 and Mark Joseph Kremer, 3,116


There was a partial board of education seat, expiring on Dec. 31, 2018, up for election. Voters didn’t welcome incumbent Selden Green, who was appointed to the positon in April. Voters chose Melissa McDaniel-Bishop to fill that seat by casting 3,871 votes. Patrick Owen received 2,915 votes and Green earned 1,225 votes.


Taylor voters supported a school bond proposition, 8,860 to 5,305 votes. Sixty-two percent of the district voters approved a proposal for 0.96 mills over six years for technology and facility improvements. The millage is expected to raise $5.9 million in the six years.


Items addressed by the tax will include:


  • Acquiring and installing technology equipment and technology infrastructure in school buildings and other facilities.


  • Remodeling, equipping or furnishing school buildings and other facilities and preparing, developing and improving sites at athletic fields and other facilities; and possible purchase of school buses.


The owner of a house with a $50,000 taxable value will pay an additional $48 in taxes annually over the six years.


In Trenton, voters retained board of education incumbent Michael J. Hawkins, with 4,036 votes and newly elected Kellee S. Howey, with 3,779 votes – thus ousting incumbent Christine F. Howe – who earned 3,354 votes. Candidate Alexander J. Drysdale earned 1,998 votes.


Howe has been a board member since July 1995.


Seven people were seeking six open positions on the Lincoln Park City Council.


Lincoln Park voters retained incumbents Thomas Murphy, 5,642 votes; Mario DiSanto, 5,177, Chris Dardzinski, 4,388 votes; and Larry Kelsey, 4,164 votes. They also welcomed newcomer Michael Higgins with 5,215 votes and Maureen Tobin, 4,867 votes. Higgins and Tobin replace Mark Kandes and Elliott Zelenak, who didn’t seek re-election.


Thomas Parkinson didn’t make the cut with 3,841 votes.


Voters also retained Lincoln Park Public Schools Board incumbent Charles Kaminski, with 4,546 votes and welcomed Susan Amorose with 6,477 votes. They will serve six-year terms. Incumbent Holly Szor was not re-elected with 3,871 votes.


(Tereasa Nims can be reached at