Beaumont physicians, employees receive national, state recognition

Beaumont Health announced several awards and recognitions recently received by physicians, clinicians and employees.

Director’s Award for Consumer Empowerment
Tamera Varkas, recipient rights advisor for Beaumont Hospital – Taylor, recently received the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services Director’s Award for consumer empowerment. Varkas was nominated by the National Association of Mental Illness – Metro for her work as an advocate for mental health awareness. The ceremony took place in September in Kalamazoo.

EuroPeds 2015 Pacesetter Award
Dr. Eileen Donovan received the 2015 Pacesetters Award by the EuroPeds Foundation for exemplary services benefitting children with special needs. A Dearborn resident, Donovan practices pediatric physical medicine and rehabilitation at the Beaumont Center for Exceptional Families.

2015 Raymond H. Murray Governor’s Award
Beaumont Health internal medicine physician Dr. Jonathan Zimmerman was awarded the 2015 Raymond H. Murray Governor’s Award by the Michigan American College of Physicians Chapter. Zimmerman practices in Dearborn and is a regular contributor to the ACP’s local and statewide conferences and provides guidance to young physicians.

National American Arab Nurses Association Angel of Mercy Award
Azza Jaber of Dearborn Heights, a nurse in the Peri-Anesthesia Care Unit at Beaumont Hospital – Dearborn, received the Angel of Mercy Award from the National American Arab Nurses Association. The award recognizes nurses whose dedication and commitment have made a significant impact on patient care.

Clarence S. Livingood Humanitarian Award
Dr. Daniel Frattarelli, chief of Pediatrics at Beaumont Hospital – Dearborn, is the recipient of the 2015 Clarence S. Livingood Humanitarian Award. A resident of Canton Township, Frattarelli was recognized for his work and impact on sick and injured children as part of the CATCH Night of Champions celebration.

Becker’s Hospital Review – CEO to Know
Beaumont Health CEO, John T. Fox, was recently named a CEO to Know by Becker’s Hospital Review for his leadership at Emory Healthcare before joining Beaumont Health in March. Fox is a resident of Bloomfield Hills.

Distinguished Women Awards
Margaret Cooney Casey, senior vice president and chief development officer, Beaumont Health and president, Beaumont Foundation, was recognized by Northwood University at its 2015 Distinguished Women Awards. Cooney Casey is a resident of Beverly Hills.

Marjorie N. Stamm Outstanding Service and Mabel E. Holton Award
Reyna Colombo, director of Physical and Occupational Therapy, Beaumont Hospital – Troy, received two awards at the Michigan Physical Therapy Association Fall Conference. The Rochester Hills resident received the Marjorie N. Stamm Outstanding Service Award to honor Michigan chapter members who provide outstanding service for physical therapy in Michigan. It is the highest honor the professional association in Michigan can bestow on a physical therapist. She also received the Mabel E. Holton Award to acknowledge achievement in scholarly publication in the field of physical therapy.

Parker J. Palmer ‘Courage to Teach’ Award
Dr. Jay Hollander, Urology Residency program director at Beaumont Hospital – Royal Oak, won the nation’s most prestigious award for program directors – the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education’s Parker J. Palmer ‘Courage to Teach’ Award. This award recognizes Hollander’s sustained and consistent excellence as a teacher, model clinician and mentor to his residents, as well as a valued colleague and advisor to his fellow program directors.

Michigan Health-System Pharmacist of the Year
Pharmacist Mark Lutz, a drug information specialist at Beaumont Hospital – Royal Oak, was named Michigan Health-System Pharmacist of the Year by the Michigan Society of Health-System Pharmacists. Throughout his career, the Brighton resident has focused on patient safety.