4 FEMA, state disaster recovery centers open to assist flood victims

Four disaster recovery centers opened today to assist residents of Wayne, Oakland and Macomb counties who suffered damages and losses in the severe storms and flooding Aug. 11 to 13.

Disaster recovery centers offer long-term opportunities for disaster survivors to reach out to the Federal Emergency Management Agency, U.S. Small Business Administration and other organizations. The four centers are one-stop shops where disaster survivors can register for assistance, discuss types of disaster assistance programs with specialists, receive the status of their existing application and obtain other information.

The centers will be open as long as needed, FEMA officials said. All centers will be open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday.

The centers should not be confused with the recovery support sites located throughout neighborhoods in southeast Michigan.  The support sites are open for a short period of time and can quickly answer questions about disaster assistance programs.

Disaster recovery center locations are:

Wayne County

Wayne County Community College District Welcome Center, 8200 W. Outer Drive, Detroit.

Wayne County Community College District Education and Performing Arts Center, 21000 Northline Road, Taylor.

Oakland County

Gerry Kulick Community Center, 1201 Livernois Ave., Ferndale.

Macomb County

Renaissance Unity Church, 11200 E. 11 Mile Road, Warren

Residents with losses from the storms and flooding will save time by registering for help from FEMA before going to the disaster recovery centers.

Register at www.disasterassistance.gov or via beb-enabled phone at m.fema.gov. Applicants also may call 800-621-3362. TTY users may call 800-462-7585. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.

The application deadline is Nov. 24.