Memorial Day Parade committee to honor modern-day soldiers

Photo courtesy of the city of Dearborn
The Dearborn Allied War Veterans Council will pay tribute to those who gave their lives for their country and also honor modern-day soldiers during the 90th annual Memorial Day Parade on May 26. Organizers especially encourage those who served in Iraq and Afghanistan to join the march down Michigan Avenue that steps off at 10 a.m. Everyone is invited to stay at City Hall Park for a noon ceremony that includes an address by Grand Marshal retired Marine Master Sgt. William “Spanky” Gibson and from 1 to 3 p.m., a Great All-American Hero Picnic. The DAWVC parade committee is headed by Commander Nancy Dlugokenski (front row second from left). The parade committee also includes: Salwa Haji (first row left), Sean Green, Stephen Fletcher (second row left), Phil Smith, George Harvey, Bill Bazzi, John Ruselowski (third row left), Mary Husson, Craig Tillman and Laura Marko. Other committee members are: Tom Wilson, Gary Tanner, Ken Preiss and Greg Price.