City officials inauguration ceremony Jan. 2

DEARBORN – The public is invited to attend the inauguration ceremony at 7 p.m. Jan. 2 for the city’s elected officials who will serve January 2014 to December 2017.

The ceremony will be inside the Michael A. Guido Theater at the Ford Community & Performing Arts Center, 15801 Michigan Ave.

A dessert reception will follow in the lobby hosted by the Dearborn Community Fund through contributions from sponsors. Called a “Celebration of Community,” the reception will feature music from the Henry Ford Community College Jazz Trio.

The ceremony also will honor retiring Councilwomen Nancy Hubbard and Suzanne Sareini, both of whom served 24 years.

Taking the oath of office that night will be Mayor John O’Reilly Jr.; Council President Susan Dabaja; Council President Pro Tem Thomas Tafelski; Councilman Michael Sareini, Councilman Brian O’Donnell; Councilman David Bazzy; Councilman Robert Abraham; Councilman Mark Shooshanian; and City Clerk Kathleen Buda.

They will be sworn-in by Michigan Supreme Court Justice Brian Zahra.

The master of ceremonies will be Debbie Dingell, president of D2 strategies and chairwoman of the Wayne State University Board of Governors.

Ray Wantuck, the 2013 Veteran of the Year, will lead the crowd in the Pledge of Allegiance, and the Dearborn Police and Fire Honor Guard will participate along with local clergy.

Sponsors of the “Celebration of Community” reception are: O’Reilly’s OneDearborn fund; Dabaja; Michael Sareini; Mirvat Kadough, Farmers Insurance; and Mohamad Bandar, Bandar Oil Inc.

For more information, call the Department of Public Information at 313-943-2285.