6 vie for 3 city council seats in Trenton

Sunday Times Newspapers

TRENTON — Voters will be asked only to make a few choices for city hall Tuesday, to select three names from among six candidates seeking four-year terms on the panel.

Voters will be asked to choose three council members from among six candidates. Only one of the three incumbents whose term is expiring, Timber R. Baun-Crooks, is seeking re-election along with candidates Bob Baker, W. Dan Gillespie, Tom Kinney, Pamela O’Bryan and Steven Rzeppa. (Councilmen Terrence Teifer and Tim Taylor are not seeking re-election.)

Trenton’s elections are staggered: Mayor Kyle Stack — a voting member of council — was elected to a four-year term in 2011. City Clerk Patricia Gearhart was elected in 2011 to the position, having served as deputy clerk since 1995. Treasurer Michael McCullough is also in the middle of a four-year term. The terms of Councilors Robert Howey, William LeFevre and MaryEllen McLeod expire in 2015.

(James Mitchell can be reached at jmitchell@bewickpublications.com.)