Incumbents advance to general election

Photo by Bob Oliver
Voters inside Dearborn High School fill out their ballots during the Aug. 6 primary election for the candidates running for mayor, city clerk and city council. The school served as the polling station for Precincts 42 and 43. The primary election reduced the number of candidates for the Nov. 5 general election ballot to two for the mayoral and city clerk races and 14 for the seven city council seats.

Times-Herald Newspapers

DEARBORN — The August primary election is complete, the votes have been tallied and the races for mayor, city clerk and city council are set for the Nov. 5 election.

In the mayoral race, five candidates were vying for one of the two spots available on the November ballot. Incumbent John O’Reilly Jr. led the candidates with 8,592 votes, about 77.5 percent of the total vote. In second was Edward Binkley, a handyman, with 989 votes.

O’Reilly has been mayor since 2006 and is seeking his second full-term in that office.

Candidates Nofila Haidar (828), Ziad Abdulmalik (317) and Tahir Hassan Alaragy (294) rounded out the mayoral race but will not be on the November ballot. There were also 66 votes cast for write-in candidates.

In the race for city clerk, incumbent Kathleen Buda led the field of three with 7,291 votes, or nearly 68 of the total vote. She is seeking her fifth term as city clerk.

Buda will be opposed by Khalil Dakhlallah, who received 2,190 votes and finished in second.

The third candidate, Mark Jess Dawdy, received 1,271 votes but will not be on the November ballot. Ten votes were cast for write-in candidates for city clerk.

The race for city council included 21 candidates, seven more than the 14 allowed on the November ballot. Current City Council President Thomas Tafelski received the most votes with 5,637.

Besides Tafelski, the four other incumbent councilors in the field received enough votes to make it to the November election. They were Mark Shooshanian (4,302), Brian O’Donnell (4,237), Robert Abraham (4,057) and David Bazzy (4,005).

Also making in to the November ballot were Mike Sareini, who received the second highest amount of votes with 5,302, Susan Dabaja (4,696), Patrick Melton (4,321), Tarek Baydoun (3,308), Sharon Dulmage (3,258), Jane Ahern (3,013), Kristyn Taylor (2,277), Colette Richards (2,172) and Stephen Dobkowski Jr. (2,161).

Candidates Steven Guibord, Mary Petlichkoff, Michael Albano, Mo Berro, Bob Bochenek, Maureen McIlrath and Robert Watson did not receive enough votes to advance. There were also 52 votes for write-in candidates for city council.

In total, 11,795 ballot were cast in the primary election, which is just above 19 percent of the 61,120 registered voters in the city.

(Bob Oliver can be reached at