County recognizes schools for involvement in state Green School program

Photo courtesy of the Wayne County Commission
Wayne County Commission Chairman Gary Woronchak (D-13th District) is joined by a host of Dearborn students and teachers who were recognized for their involvement with the annual Michigan Green Schools program.

DEARBORN — Dearborn again was well represented at the Michigan Green Schools Recognition Ceremony as more than three dozen public and private schools located within the city were recognized in a ceremony held in May.

With Dearborn leading the way, scores of schools throughout Wayne County were honored for their commitment to energy saving and environmental stewardship.

“You can’t say enough about the commitment our teachers and students show in their efforts to focus on the environment,” said Wayne County Commission Chairman Gary Woronchak (D-13th District), who attended the ceremony in Wayne and presented certificates to Green School honorees.

Michigan Green Schools, which originated in the Hartland Consolidated School District in 2005, is a non-profit agency that assists all Michigan schools — public and private — achieve environmental goals. These may include protecting quality of air, land, water and animals in Michigan, along with world outreach through improving ecological practices and teaching of educational stewardship.

To help Michigan achieve environmental goals through its schools, 20 points of educational environmental activities were developed. Schools achieving 10 of the points within an academic year attain Michigan Green School status.

“This has been a tremendous program for several years and I am pleased to see the number of schools across Wayne County that reach Green School status continue to climb each year,” Woronchak said.

Schools in Dearborn named as Green Schools were: Becker, Bryant, DuVall, Geer Park, Haigh, Henry Ford, Howard, Lindberg, Long, Lowery, Maples, McCollough/Unis, McDonald, Miller, Nowlin, Oakman, River Oaks, Salina, Snow, Whitmore-Bolles and William Ford elementary schools; Bryant, Salina and Stout middle schools; and Dearborn, Edsel Ford and Fordson high schools.

Charter and private schools receiving honors were: Academy for Business & Technology Elementary, Advanced Technology Academy, Cotter Early Childhood Center, Divine Child Elementary, Howe Trainable & Montessori Center, Henry Ford Early College, Michael Berry Career Center, Muslim American Youth Academy, Sacred Heart School and West Village Academy.