Board adds new faces

Sunday Times Newspapers

RIVERVIEW – The Riverview Community Schools Board of Education recently added some new faces.

At its Jan. 29 meeting, the board swore in its two newest members, Amy Wright and Michael Pelkey, who both won seats during the November election. Both will serve four-year terms.

Wright ran for the position on a platform that included stronger communication between the school board and parents, and passing a school improvement millage, which was voted down in the last two elections.

This is her first time on the board, after unsuccessfully launching a write-in campaign in the last election.

Pelkey ran on a similar platform of school improvement with the caveat that the district must look for cost-saving measures and remain fiscally responsible.

At the meeting, the board also elected its officers for the next four years. Former president Robyn Vitale did not run again for her position, which instead unanimously went to Shawn Filkins. Vitale was voted unanimously for the board’s vice president spot.

Cynthia Houdek was unanimously named secretary and Amy Laura-Frazier was unanimously named treasurer.