Voters head to primary polls Aug. 7

Voters going to the polls Aug. 7 will choose candidates for federal, state, county and district judge seats. The following are the federal and state, county and district candidates on the Aug. 7 primary ballots.

U.S. Senate
Republican: Clark Durant, Grosse Pointe Farms; Gary Glenn, Midland; Randy Heckman, Grand Rapids; Pete Hoekstra, Holland; Peter Konetchy, Roscommon.
Democrat: Incumbent Debbie Stabenow, East Lansing.

U.S. House of Representatives
13th District

Republican: Harry Sawicki, Dearborn Heights.
Democrat: Glenn Anderson, Westland; Bert Johnson, Highland Park; Incumbent John Conyers, Detroit; Shanelle Jackson, Detroit.

(The district includes east Dearborn, parts of Detroit and several Downriver communities.)

12th District
Republican: Karen Jacobsen, Dearborn; Cynthia Kallgren, Wyandotte.
Democrat: Incumbent U.S. Rep. John Dingell, Dearborn; Daniel Marcin, Ann Arbor.

(The 12th District covers parts of Wayne and Washtenaw counties, and all of Monroe County. It includes west Dearborn, Dearborn Heights, Taylor, Romulus and Inkster.)

State House of Representatives
11th District

Republican: Kathleen Kopczyk, Garden City.
Democrat: Cody Bailey and Bill Kaledas, both of Garden City; Dorothy Grady, Inkster; and David Knezek, Dearborn Heights.

(The 11th District covers north Dearborn Heights, Inkster, Garden City and a small corner of Livonia.

Incumbent Democrat David E. Nathan is running for re-election as State Representative in the newly redrawn 8th District.)

12th District
Republican: Joanne Michalik, Romulus.
Democrat Incumbent Douglas Geiss, Taylor.

13th District
(Allen Park, Southgate)
Republican: Tony Amarose, Dearborn Heights.
Democrat Incumbent Andrew Kandrevas, Southgate.

14th District
(Lincoln Park, Melvindale, Riverview, Wyandotte)
Republican: Edward Gubics, Wyandotte.
Democrat: Incumbent Paul Clemente, Lincoln Park.

15th District
Republican: Priscilla Parness, Dearborn.
Democrat: Incumbent George Darany, Dearborn.
(The 15th District covers most of Dearborn and several other southeastern Michigan communities.)

23rd District
Republican: Incumbent Patrick Somerville, Huron Township; Jeremey Cady, Huron Township.
Democrat: Tom Boritski, Trenton.

Wayne County Commission
8th District

Republican: Mark Cochran, Redford, November.
Democrat: Incumbent Diane Webb and Bob Constan, both of Dearborn Heights.

District Court
19th District

Incumbent Chief Judge Richard Wygonik, Candyce Ewing Abbatt and Sam Salamey, all of Dearborn.
(Compiled by Andrea Poteet and Sherri Kolade)