Administrative changes begin for next year

Times-Herald Newspapers

DEARBORN — Dearborn Public Schools made a few administrative changes last spring, including a transfer of numerous staff members to new schools or administration locations.

The change is based on reasons including spring retirements, promotions, and other staff realignments that make openings for staff members to fill.

Staff will move to elementary schools including Becker, McDonald, Cotter, Miller, McDonald, and William Ford. Edsel Ford High School will have new principals when the 2012-13 school year gets under way in September.

Cotter Elementary Principal Amy Biolette will move to McDonald Elementary.

Current Becker Principal Nada Fouani will move to her new post as an instructional leader at William Ford Elementary.

William Ford Principal Mahmoud Abu-Rus will move to Miller Elementary.

McDonald Principal Megdieh Jawad and Miller Principal Lisa Napolitan will take on new assignments in the district.

Former Edsel Ford Principal Hassane Jaafar will move to a central office position.

Dearborn Public Schools Supt. Brian Whiston said the district is fortunate to have instructional leaders of their caliber.

“Although I realize that change can be difficult, I thank them for taking on these new responsibilities, bringing their expertise to a new school, and making the academic needs of children their first priority,” Whiston said.

(Sherri Kolade can be reached at