Redistricting shakes up primaries

Sunday Times Newspapers

Redistricting has led to shakeups in the Aug. 7 primary race, with many incumbents running for seats in newly redrawn neighboring districts.

In State House District 13, which contains Allen Park and Southgate as well as part of Dearborn Heights, incumbent Democrat Andrew Kandrevas will run unopposed for his party’s candidacy and will face Republican Tony Amorose in November.

In State House District 14, which contains Melvindale, Lincoln Park, Wyandotte and Riverview, Democrat incumbent Paul Clemente will run unopposed, facing Republican Edward Gubics in November.

In State House District 23, which contains Trenton and parts of Brownstown Township and Gibraltar, Republican Incumbent Pat Somerville will face off against Jeremy Cady to face Democrat Tom Boritzki in November.

In Congressional District 13, which contains portions of Melvindale, as well as Dearborn Heights and Detroit, incumbent Hansen Clarke is running for the new 14th District, leaving the race between Democrats state Sen. Glenn Anderson, John Conyers Jr., who currently represents the 14th Congressional District, state Sen. Bert Johnson and business owner John Goci, one of whom will face Republican Harry T. Sawicki in November.

In Congressional District 12, which contains Dearborn, Allen Park, part of Melvindale, Lincoln Park, Southgate, Wyandotte, Taylor, Riverview and Trenton, incumbant Democrat Sander Levin will run for the 9th Congressional District seat, leaving the race to Democratic candidates John Dingell, currently representing the 15th District, and Daniel Marcin. Cynthia Kallgren and Karen E. Jacobsen will vie for the Republican nod.

In County Commission District 5, which contains Lincoln Park and part of Detroit, Incumbent Ilona Varga will run for the 4th District, leaving Democrat Irma Clark-Coleman running uncontested.

In County Commission District 13, which contains Dearborn, Allen Park and Melvindale, Republican J. Scott Saionz and Democrat Gary Woronchak will run uncontested to face off in November.

The race for the 14th County Commission District, covering Southgate, Trenton and Wyandotte, will feature Republican Darrell McNeil and Democrats Edward Boike Jr., Raymond Basham, and Yolanda Sims. Incumbent of that district, Democrat Joseph Palmara, will run against Republican Connie Clark in the 15th District, covering Taylor, Rockwood and Romulus, in November.

In the courts, Taylor’s 23rd District Court will see incumbent Judge Geno D. Salomone running uncontested. Wyandotte’s 27th District Court’s Judge Randy Kalmbach and Trenton’s 33rd District Court’s Judge Michael McNally also will both run unopposed.