Local primary races finalized

Times-Herald Newspapers

The Aug. 7 primary election battles feature a few unopposed seats and several redrawn districts.

U.S. House of
13th District

The district includes east Dearborn, parts of Detroit and several Downriver communities.

This year’s 13th District race candidates are Republican Harry Sawicki of Dearborn Heights and Democrats Glenn Anderson of Westland, Bert Johnson of Highland Park and longtime incumbent John Conyers Jr. of Detroit.

12th District
Fifteenth District U.S. Rep. John Dingell (D-Dearborn) is seeking a 30th full term in the House of Representatives. The 85-year-old will run for the seat in the newly created 12th District, which was formed after the state lost a representative in the 2012 Census.

Dingell will face Daniel Marcin of Ann Arbor in the primary. The winner will face the winner between Republicans Karen Jacobsen of Dearborn and Cynthia Kallgren of Wyandotte.

The 12th District covers parts of Wayne and Washtenaw counties, and all of Monroe County. It includes west Dearborn, Dearborn Heights, Taylor, Romulus and Inkster.

Michigan House
of Representatives
15th District

Unopposed incumbent George Darany (D-Dearborn) will face a challenge in November from Republican Priscilla Parness of Dearborn. The 15th District covers most of Dearborn and several other Southeastern Michigan communities.

Darany is serving his first term in the House and has served on the Dearborn City Council.

11th District
The 11th District state representative position has five Democrats and one Republican vying for the position that covers north Dearborn Heights, Inkster, Garden City and a small corner of Livonia.

Republican Kathleen Kopczyk of Garden City is running unopposed in the primary and will face the winner of Democrats Cody Bailey and Bill Kaledas, both of Garden City; Dorothy Grady of Inkster; and David Knezek of Dearborn Heights.

Wayne County Commission
8th District

Three people are seeking the 8th District seat that includes Dearborn Heights. Democratic candidates Diane Webb and Bob Constan, both of Dearborn Heights, will face off to take on Republican Mark Cochran of Redford in November.

13th District
Dearborn incumbent Democrat Gary Woronchack will go up against Republichan J. Scott Saionz in the November race.

The district includes Dearborn, Melvindale and Allen Park.

District Court
19th District

Incumbent Chief Judge Richard Wygonik will face Candyce Ewing Abbatt and Sam Salamey, both of Dearborn, in the primary with the top two vote getters facing off in November.

20th District
Chief Judge David Turfe is running unopposed for Dearborn Heights’ 20th District Court judge’s seat.

(Sherri Kolade can be reached at skolade@bewickpublications.com.)