Teacher of the Year nomination forms available

DEARBORN — Nomination forms for the 2011-12 Alberta Muirhead Teacher of the Year Award, sponsored by the Dearborn Chamber of Commerce, are available.

Forms can be obtained from the Dearborn Public Schools website, www.dearbornschools.org; the chamber website, www.dearbornchamber.org; all Dearborn public schools; and the district Administration Office, 18700 Audette.

Students can nominate new or veteran teachers whom they feel have made outstanding contributions to the teaching profession.

Preschool through fifth-grade students are asked to describe how their teacher has created a classroom where learning is positive and fun. Middle school students (grades six to eight) will need to explain how their teacher connects classroom learning with everyday life. Students in high school must describe how their teacher is preparing them to be successful beyond high school.

Applications will be assessed on quality of the nomination, not on the number received. Award judges are members of the Dearborn Chamber Education Committee and are not provided with the teachers’ names.

Teacher of Year Award winners are recognized as positive role models who consistently provide unique, productive, positive classroom experiences.

The awards ceremony is scheduled for 4 p.m. May 31 in the Ford Community & Performing Arts Center, 15801 Michigan Ave.

Completed forms must be turned in to the chamber office by April 27. Adults may assist students when necessary but no more than two teachers can be nominated per student. Nomination forms must be submitted to the Dearborn Chamber of Commerce, 22100 Michigan Ave., Dearborn, MI, 48124, or faxed to 313-584-9818.