New board members sworn in

Sunday Times Newspapers
WYANDOTTE — Four Wyandotte Public Schools Board of Education members have been sworn into office.
The members, elected on May 5, were sworn in by 27th District Judge Randy Kalmbach during Tuesday’s Board of Education meeting.
Kathy Bedikian and Michael Swiecki were re-elected for another term, and former City Councilman Patrick Sutka and Chris Calvin will be serving their first terms on the board.
Bedikian has three children in the district and one who recently graduated from Roosevelt High School. This will be her second term.
“I’m looking forward to the coming year and getting some work done and working with new members of the board,” she said.
Calvin’s daughter and son have graduated from Roosevelt, and he said serving on the board will be a good opportunity for public service.
“Elections bring good things out,” he said, “and I think we’re going to have some good things this year to pass along.
“I thank the people that elected me to be up here to serve the community in this capacity.”
Sutka’s two daughters attend schools in the district and his wife is a district social worker.
“I look forward to working on the school board,” he said, “and confronting challenges that we will face here.
“I also look forward to meeting the many new people involved in the district, from the administrators to the staff to the many parents who have children with a vested interest in the district.”
Swiecki has a son and daughter who have graduated from Roosevelt. He has served on the board for almost 16 years.
“We don’t get monetary compensation,” he said, “but once in a while you walk into an elementary school and the kindergarten will hug you. That is getting paid.
“I am looking forward to a fresh, new exciting year of moving the Wyandotte school district along to remain leaders in the industry.”
Board members Jerry Kupser, Robert Kirby and Dana Browning were not up for re-election this year.
In addition to the swearing in, members also were elected for positions within the board by other members.
Bedikian was elected board president, taking former President Kirby’s place, Swiecki was elected vice president, taking the place of former member Kevin Van Boxell, Calvin was elected secretary, in place of former member Michael Peters, and Sutka was elected treasurer, taking the place of Browning.
The next board meeting is scheduled for Aug. 4.