New council members, officials sworn in

“We have a lot of talent up here, a lot of brains.” — Councilman Leonard Sabuda

Sunday Times Newspapers


WYANDOTTE — Newly elected city officials were sworn in on Monday.


Former Councilman Joseph Peterson was sworn in as mayor, along with six city council members.


Among the six are three former mayors, James DeSana, Lawrence Stec and Leonard Sabuda. Newcomer Daniel Galeski and the two incumbents, Sheri Sutherby-Fricke and Todd Browning, complete the council.


Before introducing the new council, Peterson thanked everyone who supported him.


“Being in the position of mayor of a very unique city is a very proud moment in my life,” he said.


Stec, also mayor pro tempore, served two council terms from 1993 to 1997 and one term as mayor from 1997 to 2001.


“I look forward to working with the mayor and all the other elected officials to keep Wyandotte the great city that it is,” he said.


He offered his support and help to any resident that may need him.


This will be Sutherby-Fricke’s second term in office, and Peterson calls her “a strong leader and a great friend.”


“I am very honored, privileged and happy to be here,” she said. “I love Wyandotte.”


She thanked residents for allowing her to serve a second term and said she is always available to anyone who needs her.


Browning is entering his third term as a councilman. He thanked voters for giving him the opportunity to serve the city and said he appreciated the support.


“Thank you to all the city employees and the department heads,” he said. “You made my job as a councilman easy.


“I look forward to working with each and every one of you for the next four years.”


Galeski is the only council member serving his first term.


“I am looking forward to working with all the colleagues, because I am the new kid on the block,” he said. “I promise I will do the best I can.


“This is probably one the biggest challenges I will face in many years. However, I guarantee you right now that I am ready to go.”


DeSana, who opted to run for council instead of another term as mayor, has served as a council member from 1957 to 1961 and again from 2001 to 2005. He has also served as mayor from 1961 to 1968, 1987 to 1997 and 2005 to 2009.


“You brought him back again,” said Peterson to the residents attending the inauguration Monday. “He has served diligently not only over the last four years, but the last 40 in different capacities.”


DeSana said he has been blessed by the community and everyone that has given him support.


“I would like to thank everyone for giving me the opportunity to just help out,” he said. “Everyone knows how I feel about this city.


“I really look forward to serving with the newly elected officials as well as the others, because I’m sure they will be just as dedicated as they were before.”


Sabuda served two terms on the council in the 1970s and one term as mayor from 2001 to 2005.


“I’m ready to come back,” he said. “I have a lot of passion and a lot of interest and I’m ready to make decisions.


“We have a lot of talent up here, a lot of brains.”


He thanked the residents who took the time to vote and said he was going to work hard over the next four years.


Also sworn in Monday were re-elected officials, including City Assessor Colleen Keehn, City Clerk William Griggs and City Treasurer Andrew Swiecki.