Adray Golf Tournament funds HFCC Community Scholarships for Dearborn/Dearborn Hts residents

Ninety-seven recent high school graduates have been awarded the Henry Ford Community College Community Scholarship, including 50 from three Dearborn high schools. Each recipient will receive a $1,000 scholarship to HFCC.


The $97,000 given to Community Scholarship recipients was raised by the annual Adray Golf for Scholarships Tournament, held each May at the Dearborn Country Club. This year, the event will be held on May 20 at the Dearborn Country Club. To become a sponsor or play in the tournament, go to or call (313) 845-9880.


According to John Lewandowski, HFCC’s executive director of development, the scholarships are awarded to students from HFCC’s top 10 feeder high schools, including three Dearborn high schools.


“This year 97 students were offered a Community Scholarship, helping make college more affordable,” Lewandowski said. “The scholarship recognizes the important relationship that exists between the Henry Ford Community College and our area high schools that are so well represented among the HFCC student body.”  


Students must maintain at least a 3.0 grade point average at their high school and be recommended by their school counselor to receive the HFCC Community Scholarship.


Dearborn High School students receiving the HFCC Community Scholarship are: Dearborn residents Mirena Ala, Lauren Bellissimo, Danielle Cunningham, Malak Dabaja, Hussein Dakroub, Erica Hypnar, Grace Kostegian, Layna Maraachli, Anthony Merriweather, Joshua Shaw and Anthony Wagner; and Dearborn Heights residents Christina Anderson, Amanda Ayache and Stephanie Berry.  


Fordson High School students receiving the scholarship are: Dearborn residents Cother Abdo, Fathi Abdullah, Zeinab Ahmad, Sebba Alqetrani, Hasan Aoun, Hannah Berry, Neveen Charara, Eid Eid, Mohamad Fadlallah, Firas Kahli, Hussein Kesrouan, Nader Khraizat, Crystal Leslie, Najada Meci, Anis Muakkasa, Lythe Natour, Ayshia Rafiq, Mona Saab, Ali Saad, Malak Sobh, Sena Yehya and Sophia Mused.


“The scholarship was extremely beneficial,” Mused said. “I really needed the extra boost to get to school and get things taken care of. I am extremely humbled by receiving the award and I thank the donors.”


Edsel Ford High School students being awarded the scholarship are: Dearborn residents Maha Alwah, Mohsin Awad, Matthew Bannon, Alison Bilan, Amanda Bilan, Anthony DeWald, Timothy Duda, Sahar Hamdan, Gregory Jacek, Lindsey Jenkins, Saba Nasser, Katherine Ray, Lauren Saliba and Amy Kwasnik.


“The Community Scholarship has helped me a lot,” Kwasnik said. “My dad was recently laid off, so this scholarship helped me financially get through school. I am so thankful for the participants of the Adray Memorial Golf Tournament for helping to raise the money.”


For more information on the HFCC Community Scholarship, contact the HFCC Office of Development at (313) 845-9620.


For more information on HFCC, go to the Web site